An artist’s vision (or why I’m not crazy)

In the past year my life has been turned upside down.

There have been many changes such as the loss of my mother and of my marriage.  Through all the pain, painting and creating art helps keep me grounded and focused on what is important in life.

It wasn’t until this year a very dear friend of mine said to me “you have a Vision for your art.”  I thought at the time it was a nice compliment.  Then we started talking about my vision and he asked me “Do you know what your Vision is or how to describe it?”  Then I realized that I wasn’t exactly sure what he meant. I wondered if he was asking if I had hallucinations or if maybe he thought I was talking to aliens while wearing my tin foil hat.

What does he mean?!,” I found myself asking.

This conversation made me realize that the general public may not understand what an artist’s vision “looks like”.  We talked more about my Vision and after gaining some understanding I was able to see and describe Him better. It turns out my Vision has always been with me, I just didn’t know it had a name…and apparently my Vision is male.

Here is a good description of an artistic vision:

Vision is the art of seeing the invisible. It is the ability to see something that only you can see, something that others do not see because this something does not have a physical reality. It is something you see in your minds eye, something that exists in your imagination, something that is within yourself.

When I create an original oil painting or mural my vision is made real.

14 thoughts on “An artist’s vision (or why I’m not crazy)

  1. I’m sorry it has been such a difficult year of losses for you Chrissy. I admire how you have found a Vision through your struggle and are using the gifts and talents God has given you to share your beauty with the world! God continue to bless you, and keep on with your beautiful vision and paintings!
    Love you always.

  2. Thanks to you Chrissy, for thinking of me. I was unaware of the changes that have occurred. I always said I’d drive up your way and work with you, in your studio. I never did. I think we would have an interesting day. I’m trying to figure out how to incorporate my deep passion for family and family history into my work. To a certain degree I’ve made progress. I love your definition of vision. I’ll follow your thoughts gladly! The best to you. Judy

  3. Chrissy,
    Being able to verbalize your vision shows how you are maturing as an artist. Great job. I am in Washington DC right now visiting the art galleries to define my art. I have been so busy doing commissions I have not thought much about where I am headed. I especially like the National Gallery of Women’s Art and the Portrait Gallery. I hope to spend some time with you soon. g

    • Hi Gloria!

      I appreciate that you took the time to read my new blog. I am really glad to hear that you are busy and traveling. I would love to see the National Gallery of Women’s Art and the Portrait Gallery! It would be great to talk about what is new!

      Safe travels to you

      Chrissy

  4. Hi Judy!

    So good to hear from you. I miss seeing you back in the gallery days. I have found memories from “art camp” as well. It would be nice to see what you are working on, your work was always very spontaneous, original and refreshing to me.

    Chrissy

  5. Of course you’re not crazy……………
    Artists are very important people, always have been, (since the dawn of time, cave paintings etc.) always will be, even if we are often treated as nutters, even if art subjects are given low rating by those who decide on what our children do at school. More power to you Christine!
    Stuart
    Nice pics by the way!

    • Stuart,
      Thank you for taking the time to stop by and read my first post. A lot of parents believe art is good for kids still. There is a demand for private lessons due to some of those cut backs. I will check out the portrait gallery.

      Christine

  6. hey from ecuador!
    life has given you some hard kicks; as ‘they’ say, what doesn’t kill us makes us stronger. i hope that all of the bad experiences are behind you, and your trip to texas brings you sweet rewards.
    buena suerte/good luck!
    lisa/z

  7. Thank you Lisa for your words! I am building my life back one day at a time. Creating art and painting is one of life’s best therapy’s.

    I bet it is beautiful in Ecuador!

    Chrissy

  8. Pingback: Good mothers are the first cheerleaders | The Vintage Painter

Leave a Reply

